I’ve been neglecting this blog  since I moved it over from Blogger, pua ting.  So here’s a fresh new post.

Neither Mr. HiH (Hitched in Hawaii) or I are religious. It’s pretty funny, because people usually assume we’re Catholic. Well, at least they assume I’m Catholic – I’m Filipino and was born in the Philippines, it’s a logical assumption for them.

While I used to go to church religiously (haha) when I was younger and in high school, my religious views have shifted towards agnosticism. Therefore Mr. HiH and I don’t go to church regularly, and don’t have a pastor or other recognized clergy member who would marry us.

Hmmmm…an officiant is one of the things that you actually need for a wedding. And I don’t really want to go the justice of peace route (though it is an option). Now if you plug in Hawaii wedding officiant in Google, you will find a multitude of people who will be more than happy to marry you and your honey.

I’m sure most are very capable, competent, caring and professional individuals (so please no hate emails from you folks), but I’m a little weirded out by the fact that  a stranger will be front and center next to you and your person-to-be on the big day. I want that person to know who we are and what we’re all about. When that person performs the wedding, I want their emotion to be real.

I loved this picture of Sara and Matt ala 2000 Dollar Weddingwith their officia-friend.

And taking a nod to other couples with the same idea, we had our solution? We’re planning on having a friend officiate our wedding.

Pending approval from the powers that be, LB, or should I say Reverend-to-be LB will be marrying us come next year! Every state has their own requirements regarding officiant licensing and what not, so I had to do a little research into the topic. For you Hawaii brides that are planning to do the same, here’s a quick rundown of what you need to do to make your officiant official! Also – for you destination brides, if you plan to bring your own officiant, you’ll need to go through these steps as well (skip #1 of course).

  1. Get your officiant ordained! There are several awesome churches that you can visit online for ordainment – check out Universal Life Church or Spiritual Humanism.  If you know of any others, let me know and I’ll post ’em up here.
  2. Per Hawaii requirements, you need to provide a letter of recommendation from the church – both ULC and Spiritual Humanism can provide what’s called  a letter of good standing. Not sure about Spiritual Humanism, but for ULC, the service is free – however, as the letter needs to be notarized, you do have to pay $10 for that notarization.  Here’s more info. Donations, of course are appreciated.
  3. Bring that letter of recommendation/good standing along with a photo ID (I’d bring 2 just to be safe) down to the Hawaii Department of Health Vital Records Office – 1250 Punchbowl Street, Room 105. If your officiant is coming from a distance, have them contact the office directly at (808) 586-4540 on information regarding registering from afar. Here’s a link to the state website.

Now I have yet to have LB go through the process, but at least you have the basic rundown of how it’ll go down. I’ll be sure to post a follow up (perhaps with photos) once LB becomes Reverend LB.

